Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

In memoriam
2003-10-28 - 3:21 a.m.

Feeling: silent
Listening to: Dave Matthews Band - The Space Between
Reading/Watching: Sword Breaker

It's odd, the times when your mouth is so full of words that you can't untangle them and they sit, hard on your tongue, and you can't say anything.

The opportune moment passes, and later you could eject strings of coherent thought, but not at the right time. At the right time, you have too much to say, and instead say nothing.

God, I hate singing at funerals. Standing there in respectable black, singing, trying to look anywhere, anywhere but at the mourners, my lips shaping Ave Maria but my mouth crowded with fears and I'm sorrys until I choke, and that's when tears fall and I have to stay, still standing, still singing.

He wasn't young, but he wasn't old. His daughters ranged from twenty to ten years old. The youngest one kept looking at me, for lack of a better place to stare, and I was grateful for the time when I could walk to the other side of the church to sing harmony and not have her looking at me anymore.

Her eyes are keeping me awake at 3:30 in the morning. I don't think I'll ever be able to watch someone cry without joining them, wishing I knew the right thing to say.

There aren't any right things to be said at that time, so despite all the things flooding my throat, it's probably best that I just keep singing.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante