Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Little Irritants. Or maybe not so much...
2003-05-15 - 12:33 p.m.

Feeling: aggravated
Listening to: Crowded House - "World Where You Live"
Reading/Watching: hand. cramping. too. many. job. applications. losing. nerve. endings...

Things that piss me off:

- People who park in the handicapped spots, even for "five minutes." I have three handicapped friends, and I have had to park on the far side of the parking lot at least half a dozen times because some dickweed with a Mercedes was too special to walk twenty extra feet. It does not say "Handicapped, Sports Car, or Temporary Parking," folks. It says "HANDICAPPED." If you have all your limbs in order, FRINKIN' WALK. Trust me, I've learned to be grateful that it's so easy for me.

(Oh, and in reference to above: if there is an elevator and a staircase side by side, burn 16 calories: take the fricking stairs. Unless you're going to the fifth floor or higher, I think you can handle it (otherwise, you're really out of shape and you need the exercise anyway). When Nimsay has to wait in her electrical wheelchair for the elevator to empty itself of eighty fifteen-year-old girls in platform shoes, that is just wrong.)

- People who think that now the war is "over," the troops don't still need prayers and yellow ribbons. Someone asked me why I still have one on my door. Why? Because Sith is still in Iraq, and it scares me. Cute little, five-foot-tall, crooked-smile, stuttering Sith, who was the only one of the air force boys to consistently say "thank you" if Bri and I chose to make them dinner. He is over there. Shudder.

- The fact that my parents keep telling me "don't buy furniture, we have plenty that you can borrow here at home," except home is 200 miles away, I can't afford to rent a U-Haul, they won't be able to bring anything for weeks because they're still in school, and we have NOTHING. No beds, no chairs, no couch, no table, just carpet and walls. I'm a bit tired of sleeping on a comforter.

- Last night, when Bri and I were chatting with the Denny's waiter, he actually seemed to enjoy talking to me, instead of getting lost in Ms. Green Eyes's flirty stare like most of them do, and so Bri gets mad at me. Pardon me for not being a good little sidekick like always. She knows me too well to think I'm trying to "cut her out of the conversation" or some such nonsense, and if she doesn't know that, then she doesn't know me at all.

- Despite all my work experience, nobody wants to hire me because I've never worked a cash register. I've worked in the computer systems of a bank repo department and had it better figured out than some of the women who'd worked there for five years, but I can't learn how to ring up a pair of shoes. Sure.

It's not that things are bad. My birthday is nine days away, I LOVE the apartment, and I'm sure I'll get a job soon. I'm just getting irritated at the passage of time. My money is dwindling, and so far nothing is coming in, and it's worrisome.

Oh, and I have internet in the apartment now. So yay. :)

Comments? 8 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante