Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Daughter + Male Roommate = Defiled
2005-11-13 - 7:32 p.m.

Feeling: thrilled
Listening to: television
Reading/Watching: Desperate Housewives

Today, I announced to my parents that I am a slut.

Okay, so actually I called them and asked, "What would you like me to do with my old twin bed? Should I sell it, or return it to you guys? Because ::coughmyfianc�ismovingincough:: and there won't be room for it."

Mom, of course, got to hear the news first, and was very distressed. She thinks we're doing it only for the money, and is just as upset as the time we discussed getting legally married before mon coeur was permanently stationed in Korea. I think she sees it as my virginity being up for sale, or something. It's very upsetting for her. She is convinced that this could destroy us, because of "the strain that such a drastic change could put on the relationship."

I was halfway tempted to reply, "Oh, what, you mean sex? Actually, that's done quite a lot of good things for the relationship." But, you see, I didn't want to kill her outright. I'm still not quite ready for Mom to Find Out, even though living with someone tends to be a dead giveaway.

So instead, I pointed out that if living together was going to put such a tremendous stress on the relationship that we would end things, I'd rather we end things at the engagement stage, rather than realize we wanted to end things once we were legally married. Besides, if Korea hadn't been called off, we would already be married by now. The only reason we aren't married yet is because it takes a year to plan a wedding, and as much as I loved reading about cyanophyta's beautiful whirlwind courthouse wedding, I knew that wasn't what I wanted for myself, ergo, longer engagement.

And honestly, if sharing the same living space was going to be such a huge problem, why haven't we broken up before now? I've been practically living in his apartment for the past six months (not that my mother knows this).

In the end, she was unhappy about it, but I reminded her, "It's still me. It's still him. I know him, you know him, and you love him almost as much as I do. This is a temporary situation until my lease runs out in May and we can get our own place together after the wedding. I've known him for three years, and been dating him for nearly two. I doubt his moving in will turn up any new unpleasant traits, and in the meantime, it's much easier to share space and pay one rent, instead of two."

My dad was fairly calm about it, since he's dealt with this same situation twice before with Maffrew and Bear (and honestly, Mom should be acclimated to it by now, as well, what with her two older children moving in with significant others long before this... and as far as I know, Maffrew and his not-yet-wife weathered the storm well, considering they've been married almost four years now). Dad had lots of searching questions about the finances, whether there would be enough room in my apartment, whether Nimsay was okay with having a male roommate, whether we were prepared to have some friction at first as we got accustomed to each other. Once I assured him that this was the product of much thought and discussion and not a whim, he was satisfied. Not thrilled (again, youngest daughter + male roomate = defiled), but satisfied.

I'm hoping that by the time we go home for Thanksgiving, Mom will be a little more accustomed to it.

Although I just found out that Mom also got a call from Bear today, announcing that she was moving in with her boyfriend. So. Maybe I should've timed it better.

In the meantime, mon coeur moved his bed and other big furniture in today. I am ecstatic.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante