Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

New May's Resolutions
2002-05-01 - 8:07 p.m.

Feeling: Mellow and Ghetto
Listening to: Dashboard Confessional - Screaming Infidelities
Reading/Watching: Big Smush Mike, you VP cutie.

What day is May Day? I forget.

So I went to a meeting/election/pizza party for the Society of Honors Scholars (which I'm in) for the first time this year, and just got elected Parliamentarian out of the five people present. I even got half a pizza and a couple sodas out of the deal. God bless democracy.

I have no idea what a parliamentarian does. A couple people outlined it for me, but basically it seems I'm silly and obselete. So I plan to overstep my bounds and actually do stuff.

In other news, we're thisclose to having choir elections, which we put off for about two weeks after the whole conflict with the current president saying none of us were fit to fill her position next year. Bleh. But yeah, that's been worked out, and I'm in line for president. I'm scared of screwing up, but I'm going to bust my ass if I get it. It's how I work.

But I must set some rules for myself, if next semester is going to work. I mean, between 20 hours of courses and my vow to start writing again (beyond just what I write here... words come easily when they're introspective and crap, but when it comes to actual literature...), next semester is going to require some changes.

1) NO PLAY. It is that simple. The director that other people seem to despise is doing next fall's production, and she plans to do a new-age interpretation of a Greek tragedy, something like Antigone or Oedipus Rex. No thanks. Some people would be champing at the bit for this opportunity, but this just proves I'm not a real actor. I don't like to experiment in theater- only in music.

2) Quit obsessing about boys. I know; easier said than done, right? But I've done marvelously well with not getting tied up these past few weeks (since about the beginning of April, what with the recital and all), saying I was too busy for boys and meaning it. I think it's much healthier for me not to indulge in crushes. I really need to eradicate Desmond first. This should save me much stress and distraction.

3) Budget my damn time. I really suck at that. Now that I have a room to myself, it's far too easy to do what I please all the time. I will plan a schedule, I will print it out, I will hang it on my closet door. I will allot time for homework instead of doing it at work study the morning before class.

4) Cut down my internet time. That means I should probably quit College Club and the Neuroism Boards. I already successfully dug Kiwibox and Neopets out from under my skin. I only use College Club as a junk mail server, anyway. I never was that involved in Neuroism to begin with, fun though it was. And they were never very involved with me. (Though I must keep PhulishGuy. He is adorable.) I will also say goodbye to my webpage. It is old and dying. I should let it rest in peace. It's on Geocities, for God's sake, and I haven't updated in about six months.

5) Write at least one thing a week. Poem, short story, chapter on a book. It shouldn't be too hard, and I think once I get back into the swing of things the ideas will start coming back. Used to be I could never cap off my story ideas, and now I can't write anything except autobiographical crap. I'll probably post said creations here, so be prepared. If you don't like my creative writing, feel free to skip those entries.

In the meantime, I'm working on a paper on Aaron Copland. Absently scratching a mosquito bite, I must've hit a scab or something, because it's now bleeding like I opened up a vein. I have no band-aids, so I folded a tissue and secured it with tape. This is Katie's definition of first aid, wrapping my upper arm with clear packing tape. How very ghetto we college students are (and too damn lazy to drive to the store for band-aids).

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante