Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Calling all sycophants!
2003-03-08 - 2:24 a.m.

Feeling: Wired
Listening to: Dixie Chicks - Let Him Fly
Reading/Watching: no time for your puny books. ha.

Note to self: never, ever talk theology at 2 in the morning. It's just too frustrating.

We were having free discussion, agreeing to disagree, and actually had this exchange:

Lynne- But at the gates of heaven, all of us will be asked whether we followed Christ and accepted him as our true savior. Those who never did cannot be allowed into heaven.

Me- Okay, so let's say you and I are both taking a pop quiz. It's in French. I studied French for four years, and I ace it. You were taught Spanish in high school, and don't get one question right, even though you did your best. Does that mean you deserve to fail the entire course for your ignorance? Is that fair?

Lynne- Yes.

::baffled. banging head on table::

I'm amazed sometimes that Christianity could get so wonky and estranged from itself in just five hundred years (not going to say on whose part; for all I know, I could be desperately wrong, and I'm not going to claim anything), when it took millennia for Judaism to change.

To quote Lala: Jesus is great, but some of His fans scare me.

Tonight, in the play, we somewhat avoided the Second Night Curse. Everyone was still a bit hyper (Miller did the shimmy-dance... it is by far the funniest thing I have ever seen him do), and we kept the momentum going without stepping on the audience's laughter. Came dangerously close to saying the name of Shakespeare's "Scottish Play," which is the one superstition that I actually uphold, because even if the spirits-of-thespians-past don't come smite you, you're surely going to get pummelled by a bunch of college students in Greek kaitans anyway.

Afterward, talking and goofiness at EZ's with Miller and Chorus Girl #1, Lauren (who is much fun... I foresee possible hangings-out in the future?), and then to Jim's to catch up with Lynne, which turned from smalltalk and discussing current events into her asking about Catholic things like intercessory prayers, and led into the whole who-gets-into-heaven thing, which was where it got messy.

In happier news, let me steal one of goovie's ideas. It's called a meme, and it's all about the self-absorption, hee hee. It's like those annoying survey e-mails, except shorter.

I ____ Katie.
Katie is ____.
If I were alone in a room with Katie, I would _______.
I think Katie should _____.
Katie needs ______.
I want to ____________ Katie.

Please leave your answers in the comments section. :) You can be anonymous if you like, as long as you tell me who you are sometime within the next... oh, five years or so.

Mrph. Going to bed.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante