Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Katie Gets New Shoes
2003-11-30 - 5:02 p.m.

Feeling: giggle
Listening to: Jump Little Children - Lamplight
Reading/Watching: Music of the Baroque Era

"Katie, what on earth is wrong with your shoe?"

"Oh... this?" I inspected the cracked sole, right across the ball of my foot. "The other one is like that, too." I stuck a finger under the insole and wiggled it at her, through the wide hole in the rubber.

Mom didn't think it was very funny. "It's November. It's rainy and muddy and cold. Why are you walking around in shoes with no bottoms?"

"They have bottoms, the bottoms are just... kinda cracked. All my shoes are like this, I've just been waiting for the right time to get some new ones, since money's been kinda tight this summer. I thought I'd ask for some for Christmas."

"Shoes are not a Christmas present. I can buy you shoes."

"It's okay, I can live with these until Christmas, I'll have more money by then anyway."

"Call it an investment toward your health insurance, which we do still pay. I don't want you walking around in broken shoes in November and getting sick."

I grinned. "Health insurance by Reebok?"

"Or Payless, or whatever. Just get some shoes."

Hee hee. So I guess I get new shoes. She's such a mom sometimes. And I'm so spoiled.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante