Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Putting the *Pro* in Procrastination
2009-12-08 - 9:01 a.m.

Feeling: frantic
Listening to: accompaniment tracks for the kids' concert in a week
Reading/Watching: everything but.

It's maddening, that when I most need to focus on a major project, I begin obsessing over all other minutiae around me.

If I need to do laundry, I start wanting to tidy the counters or sweep the floor. If I need to sweep the floor and dust and mop, etc, I begin organizing the papers on the kitchen table or planning what I'm going to cook for dinner. If I really, really need to run errands around town, I start thinking about doing laundry.

If I need to do schoolwork, I start wanting to catch up on back episodes of Grey's Anatomy, checking my Facebook account, washing the dishes, bathing the dogs, essentially tackling any other small task that needs doing before getting to the big one.

And right now, I need to finish my research paper on Meir Finkelstein for my class on 20th Century classical composers. Instead, I am writing a blog entry.

So yeah... no wonder I had that frantic "have to complete a task but every factor in the world is going against me" dream again last night, during the fitful four hours that I actually let myself sleep.

And the heater is out again. Lovely.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante