Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

"Who needs a shrink...?" Gets a Makeover
2005-01-22 - 11:25 p.m.

Feeling: accomplished
Listening to: Rent - Seasons of Love
Reading/Watching: Conversations with Dead People

...Well, you can probably guess what I did today. (For those arriving late, all the navigation images are new.)

I woke up this morning knowing that, if I did nothing else, I absolutely needed to write the program notes for my recital. If there was time left over, I was going to put a new rose plant in one of the pots that didn't survive the winter.

So what did I do? I sat down at my laptop and cropped, blurred/sharpened, darkened, heightened contrast, edited RGB ratios, and layered text for that cool shadow effect. It took two entire discs of Buffy season 7 (eight episodes) to finish the seven top pictures and rewrite the HTML. All done with a combination of Paint, Microsoft Photo Editor, and the software that came with my digital camera. Nimsay swears that I need Photoshop, and fast. But I consider it a job reasonably well done (although it reinforces that I have a weird obsession with rainbow colors; sorry if you like a color scheme to be more streamlined), especially since it was all done in avoidance of writing program notes.

It's funny, how creative a person can get when she's shirking homework.

Then Krynn came over because her parents are driving her crazy, and helped me re-tint my hair for the recital. It's better than trying to do it myself, because she can see the back of my head considerably easier than I can, and for the price of a box of Clairol I got red(der) hair, a scalp massage, and Krynn's live-action comedy routine as she tried to figure out the instructions.

Again, life is fun when you avoid homework. I found old program notes from previous juries anyway, so seven of my thirteen songs are already taken care of. Six more to go.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante