Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Rain and Good Moods (and the direct correlation between the two)
2003-09-18 - 4:00 p.m.

Feeling: industrious
Listening to: Toad the Wet Sprocket - All I Want
Reading/Watching: Dragons of a Vanished Moon

Yesterday, I did something extraordinary. I Used My Time Wisely.

From class, to lunch, to work study (in which I did homework), to the meeting with my thesis advisor, and then on to Wal-Mart to finally get around to that ongoing list of Stuff We Need to Pick Up Sometime Soon or Else the Universe Will Collapse:

- Roto-rooter because the bathtub takes an hour to drain and it's freaky
- Pots and soil for the mint plant and chrysthanthemums Carol gave me, before they die in their hellish little plastic planters
- Eggs, because Katie was brilliant and, while trying to boil some for tuna salad, managed to send the remaining half-dozen into a graceful swan-dive. They really don't bounce well, although the landing made a cool noise.
- Candles, because they are an addiction and we used up a bunch of them during the blackout and they were 1.88 for a half dozen scented votives. Pretty.

Got home, potted the plants, and fixed tuna salad on toasted ciabatta bread (it was 99 cents because it said sell-by-Friday), then sat in a miasma of aromatic candlelight and watched Pride & Prejudice.

This morning, it was chilly and raining (in case you've forgotten, I love rain), so at 7:30 I took a few minutes before showering to run outside behind our building and stomp barefoot in the puddles until I was completely soaked. Earlybirds going to work probably thought I'd lost it (if I ever had it), but it was fantastic, twirling around in a drenched t-shirt and purple pajama shorts, letting the water tickle over my skin.

I've noticed, I have a lot more fun when I don't let other people get in the way. It could have been fun having someone around last night to share candlelight and tuna salad with, but I doubt I would have spent the time folding laundry in my undies, watching a 2-DVD Jane Austen movie and quoting my favorite Elizabeth Bennet lines in Jennifer Ehle's perfect accent. Plus no one will ever understand my strange, sick attraction to Colin Firth swimming in the pond at Pemberley in that frilly blouse. I don't get to enjoy these things when other people are around to watch.

This morning at school, all parking spots were full except those behind the stadium, about a half-mile from my first class. It was still raining, so I took off my glasses and walked, humming, grateful that I don't wear makeup to school, else I'd have running mascara to deal with.

I arrived at the music building with dripping hair, my shirt sticking to me, and squishing shoes. No one understood why I was smiling.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante