Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Senior Day
2005-04-05 - 3:44 p.m.

Feeling: tired but happy
Listening to: I'm Not Getting Married Today - Sondheim
Reading/Watching: still homework

Today I sneaked back on campus (don't tell, it's not quite doctor permitted) for Senior Day, to order graduation announcements, pick up my cap and gown, and be in the senior picture.

I wasn't sure about whether I'd be up to tromping all over the place yet, so I borrowed Bri's lightest, speediest wheelchair for the rest of the week, and I'm wheeling myself around campus, visiting teachers and turning in assignments.

Being in a wheelchair has its drawbacks, such as maneuvering to get a piece of cake and cup of punch from the refreshment table where they were handing out caps and gowns, then wheeling myself to a quiet corner to enjoy said refreshments, without spilling them all over myself. I was victorious with the cake and punch, but had a slight mishap with my salad at lunch. A monstrous clump of broccoli decided to take a suicide dive out of its bowl (which was precariously balanced on my lap), and tumbled down to the pavement, leaving a lovely streak of ranch dressing from knee to ankle of my jeans. Whee.

And all this pushing myself around has given me Pavement Palms. Mm, grimy. Luckily a couple people took pity on me and opened doors, or pushed me up the remainder of a hill (palsied turtles were moving faster than me), and I didn't once fall out of my chair. Luckily for me, it's election day for student offices, and all the SGA hopefuls campaigning around campus thought that giving aid to the poor helpless crippled girl would win them a couple extra votes. I could always count on a candidate for vice-president or sophomore senator to hold a door open for me.

Being shorter than everyone (and on wheels) has a way of drawing attention, something I've never really enjoyed, but today it was a bit fun, returning after a long absence. All the deans were gathered to be in the senior picture, and the dean of humanities (a.k.a. "my" dean) gave me a hug, then introduced me to someone as "the best singer on the planet." I replied that of course that's not true, they're still polling people in Asia to determine it. And then a few people asked anxiously if I would still sing at graduation, which I wasn't previously aware I was doing, but I guess I am now.

When I walked (wheeled?) into the Honors Office for work, there was a huge yellow construction-paper sign on the corkboard saying, "WELCOME BACK KATYIE!" with little notes from all four of the people in the office, including my boss. It was so cute, I sat speechless for a full minute with tears in my eyes.

It's nice to know you're missed.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante