Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The End of the Run
2004-04-12 - 1:09 p.m.

Feeling: nostalgic
Listening to: arranging homework on playback
Reading/Watching: Friends reruns. happy times.

It's funny, the show has been over for almost a week, and I feel like I should still be braiding my hair up and putting on makeup every night.

But I appreciate having my life back. I like having the extra four hours a night to do whatever I want. Plus, this means no more getting smacked around in the name of my 'art'.

The other day, I noticed bruises on my thigh and hip from the moment when I fall against the bed in the throes of death. Didn't even realize those were there. Plus there's still the little browny-raisin thumbprints on the insides of my upper arms from when Iago grabs me and puts his dagger to my throat, and big plum-sized marks from Othello gripping my arms and shaking me, shouting "Cassio not killed?" Luckily, the little nicks from falling to my knees are almost gone. Soon I'll be able to wear shorts and sleeveless shirts again.

And the flowers on the table from my parents are almost wilted. It makes me sad.

I'm really going to miss this play. Getting into costume, the feeling when the stage manager says "Places," the breath everyone takes right before delivering their first line, the way my heartbeat starts climbing during Act V, falling to the ground when I 'die' and trying to land so that my hair doesn't blow against my breathing, and that last second of walking out into lights and applause and attempting the sliding Shakespearean bow (which I always bungled), the final night when I got everyone to sign the back of my poster (a cheesy but worthwhile tradition), and the fun, fun blue-black souvenirs I got to keep for days afterward.

...still keeping, actually. I don't bruise easily, so I tend to recover just as slowly.

Okay, so maybe I don't miss it so terribly much.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante