Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Burned Bridges
2003-09-14 - 6:55 p.m.

Feeling: justified
Listening to: Lilith Fair - The Water is Wide
Reading/Watching: Dragons of a Vanished Moon (eee!)

The underside of the disc was neatly scored with unmistakeable knife-scratches. Some so deep they went through the silver paint and punctured the upper side of the CD.

Knew I shouldn't have asked for it back. I've seen her revenge on ex-boyfriends too many times to think I'd be different.

I stood in the kitchen, holding it in my hands, and slowly began to bend it, first with one hand, then two, folding it slowly until it formed a U-shape away from my palm. I had to admire its tenacity, its plastic will to exist.

When it broke, it shattered with a loud snap, scattering all over the linoleum. Silver paint fluttered in its wake like glitter.

Going to get the broom, I mused about how it compared to my own temper- it bent until it was nearly doubled, giving and stretching and refusing to crack, before the final explosion, when shards flew every which way, suddenly fragile as glass.

Sweeping up the fragments, I smiled.

That felt damn good.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante