Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Look.
2002-06-27 - 9:04 p.m.

Feeling: Frustrated as hell
Listening to: Garbage. No, seriously, the band.
Reading/Watching: Tiger. He's just being nice. It's comforting right now.

Okay, it is clear that friends can spend too much time together. Even if it's just a harmless hour or two a day.

At first I made excuses, both for the friend and for me. Bad day. Didn't sleep well. Bored. Dealing with some personal problem that can't be shared.

But time went on. And things got worse. And I'm starting to get tired of it.

O-kay. I get it. You're sick of me. That much is blindingly clear. It's time I admit it, because trying to deal with it is making me sick of you. I'm sick of trying to introduce conversations and being shot down. I'm tired of asking questions and getting a withering look. Just frickin' say it. And don't insist on hanging out with me.

If I wanted to spend five dollars on lunch to sit for an hour in semi-hostile silence, being tolerated and condescended to, I would go home and hang out with my father. Or drive up to St. Ed's and try to have a one-sided conversation with Charlie Brown.

Yes, you can definitely spend way too much time with a friend. But it would actually be more pleasant to be honest and admit we don't enjoy each other's company any more. No good forcing something that you clearly don't want. I definitely don't need to spend time being not wanted.

I'd rather be alone than with someone who makes me feel bad about myself all the time.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante