Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

A Twist in the Plot
2007-10-12 - 11:30 p.m.

Feeling: buoyant
Listening to: nada
Reading/Watching: textbook, yadda yadda

In short: I told the restaurant that next week would be my last week.

Why? I have been offered a full-time teaching job.

Where? A middle school in Schoolville ISD, i.e. an "inner city" school, although it's a magnet school (not for the arts, though). I'll be their new choir director.

How? Because their current director just decided that teaching wasn't for him. Six weeks into the school year. And his last day is five days before their fall concert. This made the principal oh, somewhat upset.

Why me? Because I had a mini-breakdown over money and job stress on Tuesday while I was at grad school, and my voice teacher, rather than let me sit in his chair and cry, decided I should go speak to the head of the department and ask for advice. She, in turn, put out feelers for any job openings in the choral field, and miraculously, there was one. Right in town.

So Tuesday night I applied. Thursday I interviewed. Today (Friday) I met the principal & the band director and was offered the job. All I need is to get my alternative certification going so the state won't kick up a fuss.

Words can't describe this feeling. But I did have to pull over in my car to get the verbal celebrations out of the way before attempting to drive.

P.S.- I think they offered me the job because of this:

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante