Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

More Thesis Talk
2005-03-04 - 4:29 p.m.

Feeling: hopeful
Listening to: Tori Amos - Mother Revolution
Reading/Watching: Times Literary Supplement- I am at work, it is quiet here.

I really want to have something interesting to say.

Today I was walking across campus to work, and something hit me in the head. I touched my hair wildly, half afraid it was a big bug or bird droppings (which, sadly enough, has happened before), and found an acorn lodged in the crazy velcro that is my curls.

Glancing up, I saw a squirrel scrambling back and forth on a branch above me, making noise. I swear the little punk was giggling at me.

Spring Break falls strangely early this year (begins today, actually), and in addition to flying to San Diego to visit Bri's friend who graduated last year, I have pledged to write and/or refine five pages of thesis a day (yes, even in California). I've been threading my way through the rough-cut pages I had before, which are scattered and episodic at best, and working on a solid introduction that will set the style and make the vignettes less confusing. It seems to flow better when I treat it like a narrative, or a long journal entry, instead of a scientific process. Then, all I have to do is plug in technical terms and brief explanations among the "storytelling", with the dull reference material in footnotes.

By the way, everyone who's trying to be supportive, I love you. Thank you. But stop telling me "you'll do fine, you always do fine". That. so. does. not. help. I'd rather you say, "why are you talking to me instead of working on it, then?" (This is my carte blanche to everyone to be a surrogate mother, i.e. annoying-homework-gadfly, until March 14, when spring break ends.)

My cousin KelRee posted an immensely complimentary (and blush-worthy) entry in her LJ about music and the fact that I like to sing, and someone replied to it with, "Has she ever tried for a career in music?"

To that end, I am open for suggestions. Do you know a millionaire who would like the modern version of a personal troubador? Someone who wants an in-house singer, much like kings of previous centuries who employed people just to stand around and make music? I am serious about trying to make a living off my voice, same as I am about teaching. I think it's possible. I just have absolutely no clue where to start. Anyone who knows anything is welcome to speak up, or give me the e-mail of a guy-who-knows-a-guy.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante