Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Keep Dancing
2001-06-26 - 12:27 a.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

"You can bend, but you can't break." ~ Smart guy, the lyricist for Tonic, hm? This is from their song Soldier's Daughter. I love it.

I had a day that was riddled with contrasts. The morning was frustrating because I worked for two hours, and since I only had one (chinchy) table, I walked home with two-fifty in tips, once I paid out the busboys' portion. Big-time grr-ness.

I even let it ruin my afternoon: I spent the two-fifty and then some on McDonald's version of comfort food (ah, chicken nuggets... childhood revisited in neat little fried boot-shapes), got home, groused a bit, took a nap, etc.

"Hey, little girl, keep dancing... hey, little girl, keep dancing alone. 'Cause there's not enough time in your day to keep you here." ~ More Soldier's Daughter. I shall cease to explain the quotes- you can just infer.

Tonight was the polar opposite. We had a table of twenty-seven people, and my buddy and I were taking care of it- I had so many opportunities to sing that I was nearly tired by the end of the night. They actually left fifteen percent on their $225- revolutionary for a big group like that where it's the norm for everyone to pitch in two dollars and the waitresses wind up screwed. (Anyone out there reading this, realize that we make $2.13 an hour and the rest is subsidized by tips. Be kind. We're trying.)

I got to work feeling grouchy, expecting the day to be long and dragging because I'd been working doubles for the past two days and it's a bit much for me. But it flew- on rather lucrative wings, at that. Forty dollars for four hours- tidy for a Monday, wouldn't you say? Plus I established some rapport with my co-workers, sang my heart out (they should prescribe opera as stress management therapy: it's marvelous), and somehow after snapping at this one irritating waiter that I didn't need his condescension to do my job right, he was nicer to me. Wow.

"Hey little girl, keep dancing alone. 'Cause there's not enough time in your life to stay here."

And after listening to that song, thinking about the words, I remember what used to be my mantra... not letting the bad stuff get you down, and various other utopian ideas. It's weird, how when you stop worrying, there becomes less to worry about. Literally. It's more than a state of mind- it's like a cosmic force that I will never fully comprehend. :)

But yeah, I don't have enough time to waste on sweating this stupid job anymore. And somehow, giving up on it is what made it start sorta working. (I thought I was exiling myself from club-invites forever by snapping at the waiter, but instead he actually said good night to me along with the rest of the group before leaving. Very weird.)

"Keep dancing alone. 'Cause there's not enough time in your life to stay here."

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante