Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Ironic Turnaround... and around.
2007-04-17 - 11:50 p.m.

Feeling: annoyed and ironic
Listening to: Linus - What's Inside
Reading/Watching: I can't find my book anywhere. it's kinda freaking me out.

I am just not very interesting these days.

Except the head manager talked me into staying on part-time at the bookstore. Then the schedule was posted several days late and I was supposed to work the night mon coeur and I had planned to go see Wicked.

We'd shelled out the $130 for tickets, made carpooling plans with friends, set a departure time, etc. But somehow I was supposed to show up for work instead, because someone's brain fell out when they saw my schedule request.

I told the manager sorry, but I was going to see the show I paid many pretty pennies to see. I gave her warning of this a day in advance, because I figured it would be rude to just call that morning and tell them. She blew up at me. (Mind you, this is the same woman who fired Eve.)

And apparently, if a schedule request is "denied" (or ignored or lost or forgotten, apparently) and you don't show up for work on that day, you're automatically on your last strike, meaning one more sick day or late day and you're fired.

So, um, no thank you. Keep your raise. I'll just leave, as per previous plans and written notices. Am I the only one getting a distinct "revolving door" feeling about this job? (And by the way, the show was fabulous, and totally worth re-quitting over.)

I intend to wear my purple "I ::heart:: Wicked" t-shirt on my last day. Just for that last little smidgen of irony.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante