Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Cottoning On
2007-10-03 - 11:49 p.m.

Feeling: bulleted
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: textbooks, all the time

Don't judge me. I post more often than Andrew, so there.

Things I realized at my uncle's wedding this weekend:

-When the mother of the bride makes a toast saying, "In 1977, my daughter was born, and her future husband was ten, running through the pasture..." it makes him sound like a dirty old man.

-When I try to sing Schubert's Ave Maria for the first time since my grandmother's funeral, I don't cry like I did in the shower, but I do start shaking a lot.

-If my next two wedding gigs are any indication, I will never be able to stop singing that song.

-When you liberally enjoy the beer & wine bar at the reception, and then invite your cousins to your hotel room to keep partying (and drinking), you should stop drinking before you conk out in front of everyone and invite much mocking.

-Just before you conk out, you should tell your husband, "Sweetie, we have a six-hour drive home tomorrow and it's your turn behind the wheel. Do not stay up until 6:30 a.m. drinking beers with Bartok and Kerry," because otherwise, he will. And he will pull over to vomit three times and insist it's food poisoning, nothing else.

-Boys are stupid.

-When Puppy's adorable little girlfriend pulls me aside and confesses that they've gone ring-shopping, that is not the best time to suddenly realize that they've probably had sex.

-It is also definitely not the best time to think more deeply about that concept. Because when they talked about moving in together after graduation, did you think they meant founding a joint monastery and convent?

So yeah. I'm going to stick with happy memories about reading Puppy stories when he was small enough to fit in my lap, and the times I sang him nursery songs when he was too young to know I sang all the wrong words. Those thoughts are much safer.

P.S.- The wedding was beautiful. But I think mine was better.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante