Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Tilting at Windmills
2003-07-01 - 11:30 p.m.

Feeling: weather-beaten
Listening to: Dave Matthews Band - "When the World Ends"
Reading/Watching: Acorna's Search

I am still sunburned and bug-bitten from when Nimsay and I pulled a David vs. Goliath and took on a good quarter-mile of sidewalk weeds with nothing but a simple pair of pruning shears.

The pathway through that field is much shorter than the one we've been taking, but it was overrun with nasty, thorny weeds, and while at the grocery store we bought some clippers, to clear the return route step by step.

Two hours, 19 mosquito bites, and several dozen thorn-scratches later, I'd cleared away nearly all the little boogers, and given my legs and arms a nice solid squat-bend workout to boot.

Although I say now, if it's regrown even a fraction by next week when we go shopping again, we are taking another route. It's not worth the sunburn, and the path is not any shorter when it takes two hours to traverse.

Visiting home was nice, I finally brought back all my books (yay! ::cuddle::), but wasn't able to fit the actual bookshelf in the mini-trunk of my veryverycompact car. So I'm off to Wal-Mart or Target to find a cheap little build-it-yourself shelving unit, and possibly a desk. My room is a screaming mess without places to put things.

Since Vicky's Secret seems bent on giving me ample vacation time and only 5-10 hours of work a week, I'm renewing the quest for adequate employment, and if I find something nice enough, I might just drop the idea of retail altogether and start fresh. I'm scraping by, thanks to the church job, but this one-shift-a-week crap cannot continue. Especially not for minimum wage.

Never thought I'd live to see the day when I'd think longingly of working 7-8 shifts a week at MacGrill, covered in food, amid the sweaty clang and clatter of boisterous chefs. You know what? I don't miss that. Pulling in sixty to a hundred bucks a night... that's what I miss.

And the week struggles on. Although I finally have my books! And my voice teacher has found me a singing job beginning in August! Eeee!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante