Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Well Read
2008-07-14 - 11:10 a.m.

Feeling: shy
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: analyzing Haydn's "Creation" for conducting class

Lately, I've adopted a habit of voicing ideas and theories as if I read them somewhere.

I'll say "I saw this article that talked about..." and then explain the concept. It serves a dual purpose, really- if the person I'm talking with disagrees, then we can have a healthy debate without the awkwardness of someone being right or wrong, because I didn't say it, I 'read it somewhere.' And if they agree, then that's cool, and I don't look like a big annoying know-it-all or a presumptuous idiot.

Plus, then I'm not going around expounding on my own thoughts and opinions... I just read a lot, even if people think I'm reading utter crap.

I don't know how it started, really, but it's become a method of self-preservation. I quite like it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante