Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

All Squishy
2006-04-13 - 10:21 p.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: Seether - Broken
Reading/Watching: The Binding Stone, by Don Bassingthwaite

There's a woman in my new church choir who hails from England, and has a deliciously plummy highly-educated/upper-crust accent. I love to hear her speak, because everything she says seems so charming and adorable. It doesn't hurt that she's already a cute little old lady who loves to say offbeat things.

Tonight we sang for Maundy Thursday service, in which apparently there's this ceremonial foot-washing thing that the priests are supposed to do for everyone in the church. The choir elected not to go all the way down two flights of stairs from the choir loft, and instead chose a foot-washing representative: the lovely British woman.

She was so excited about being "chosen," that she got her toes buffed and painted, and wore her cutest pair of slip-on sandals.

When she arrived back in the choir loft following her Symbolic Foot Soak, I hugged her during the exchange of peace and asked, "So how did the foot washing go?"

She replied indignantly, "They didn't dry between my toes, and now I'm all squishy!"

You have to say it in a British accent to get exactly why I fought so hard not to laugh out loud. The phrase "now I'm all squishy" has become my new favorite. I intend to work it into a conversation soon, but naturally I'll have to use the accent.

Here's hoping I sound more Gwyneth than Madonna when I do it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante